Contractors with No Employees Face New Workers’ Compensation Requirement

concrete construction workers

A new law will require almost all contractors in California to carry workers’ compensation coverage, regardless of if they have employees or not. According to the author of the bill, State Senator Bill Dodd (D-Napa) the new law was necessary due to the tendency of many small contractors to claim they have no employees, when…

Read More

CSLB Reminds Licensees of Contractor’s Bond Increase to $25,000


The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) is reminding all licensees that the contractor’s bond amount is increasing to $25,000 on January 1, 2023. CSLB first announced this increase in December 2021 which resulted from Senate Bill 607, signed into law in 2021. The increase applies to the contractor license bond (from $15,000 to $25,000) and…

Read More

Workers’ Comp Construction Dual-Wage Threshold Increase

Business Insurance Claims Services

Nearly all the workers’ compensation dual-wage class codes for the construction sector have increased as of Sept. 1, 2022. Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara approved the recommendation by the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau (WCIRB) of California to increase the wage thresholds for high-wage workers. What are Dual-Wage Thresholds Dual-wage thresholds divide high and low-wage workers…

Read More